THIS BIRD HAS FLOWN


Tomorrow Never Knows
June 14, 2010, 6:50 AM
Filed under: PRE-TRIP JITTERS (Kenya 2010)

Hey friends.

BOOM. Packed.

Somehow I managed to shrink mountains of crap to fit in a backpack. It was quite a feat and exactly the Tetris match that I previously imagined. Good thing I discovered all of the secret compartments. This giant nugget of a bag needs to make it to DC tomorrow for training, to London on the 16th, and finally end up in Nairobi sometime in between the 16th and 17th. Cross your fingers that it makes it in one piece. I’ve crossed all my toes, too.

Special shoutout to my parents for helping me pack (and prepare for this trip overall). I would have literally lost it (meaning my sanity) without their help. Although our patience was tested numerous times, I feel as prepared as I could possibly be and it’s all because of them. I should probably also throw out a huge thank you for letting me go in the first place. They’ve been relatively calm throughout this whole process, which I can’t really understand. If I was shipping my only child off around the world, I’d be a little bit on edge. So, Mom and Dad, thank you so much for supporting me through this incredible experience. It means the world to me.

So now that the stressful packing is all out of the way, I have got a serious case of cabin fever. It’s the night before I leave for training and I still have no idea what to think. I’m obviously incredibly excited, but I can sense some anticipation and nervousness tucked in there somewhere too. I wish I could bypass the three days of traveling and just meet my host family and community already. Then again, the luxury of air travel really does minimize the time I can spend reflecting on the places that link and separate my home from my destination. And that came out deeper than I intended. That was basically my attempt at saying that I’m anticipating digesting some intense ideas and experiencing some cognitive dissonance in the process. By the end of this week, I’m sure I’ll find some beautiful scenery to appreciate while I think through some extremely deep thoughts. Perhaps I’ll be accompanied by a giraffe or two to help me get my contemplation on. If that’s the case, you better believe I’ll be posting pictures.

Even though I have no idea what to expect, I’m ready. Tomorrow never knows, and at this point, that’s okay with me.

Kwaheri,

Arianna

PS- This is my last post from the US. Hopefully you’ll hear from me again soon and if not, see you in August! Much love!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I am sooo happy for you! This is such a great opportunity, I just wish I could catch up with you before you leave! You are a very lucky girl! You are so right, your parents are amazing and just as you are grateful for them I am sure they are just as grateful for you! You have grown up to be such a wonderful young lady…making me look like an old lady:) I love you and miss you and hope you have the time of your life on your trip! Enjoy every minute! Loves, Melanie

Comment by Melanie




Leave a Reply

